admin admin

*By: Isaac Amponsah (Dr Ike) and Bright Yeboah Taylor (BYT)*

* Ghana Premier League was first organized by the country's former football Association President in 1956. The Association was then headed by Mr. Richard Akwei alias Lion Heart.

He initially named the competition GAFA Championship which represented the Gold Coast Amateur Football Association (GAFA).

Fourteen (14) clubs were to take part of the competition namely: Hearts Of Oak, Great Olympics, Asante Kotoko, Standfast FC, Great Argonauts, Ebusua Dwarfs, Venomous Vipers, Cornerstone, Kumasi Dynamos, Eleven Wise, Hasaacas, Obuasi Everton's, Obuasi Hearts Of Oak, and Kumasi Evergreens. 

However, before the start of the league season, Kumasi Asante Kotoko, Cornerstone, Kumasi Evergreens, Obuasi Hearts Of Oak, Obuasi Evertons and Kumasi Dynamos boycotted (Withdrew).
It was left with only eight clubs from the Southern Sector and the league association called the league off mid-way.

* Accra Hearts Of Oak were then declared winners of the maiden national league. After checks of the validity of that season, Hearts of Oak league titles will be 20 instead of 19 as widely known. 

Factsgh can authoritatively includes the 1956 national league trophy to the total titles won by Hearts of Oak and it will not be wrong for them to claim that they've won the top-flight for twenty times.

* Due to the boycott of the league by Kumasi Evergreens, Kumasi Dynamos, Obuasi Hearts of Oak, and Obuasi Everton, they cannot be included in the number of clubs featured in the Ghana League at its initial stages but Great Argonauts from Accra can be part of the number of clubs featured in the Ghana League because they played the league before it was brought  to to an end. 

* The 2020-21 season of the Ghana League will be the *58th* edition since the competition started in 1956 but it will be the *24th* edition since the inception of the Ghana Premier League on 19th December 1993. 

* The Ghana Football Association Executive Council annulled the 2019-20 league season which saw Techiman Eleven Wonders and Karela United as debutants. Due to the cancellation as a result of Coronavirus disease, the two clubs will be playing their official debut games in the competition when the 2020-21 season kicks off this weekend.

* Kumasi King Faisal and Accra Great Olympics joined the other 16 elite clubs for the 18 club eague as Extra-Ordinary Congress agreed.

* Accra Great Olympics are previous winners of the Ghanaian top-flight on two occasions - in 1970 and 1974 seasons.

The Wonder Club achieved an invisible status when they won the 1970 season without a defeat.

*By: Isaac Amponsah (Dr Ike) and Bright Yeboah Taylor (BYT)*

* The 2020-21 season will be the 7th time that Ghana elite competition would be played with 18 Clubs.

* The debut 18 Club League was 1962-63 season which Real Republicans won, followed by 1963-64 season which Asante Kotoko won.

* Moreover, the 1975 season saw 18 clubs fighting for the title but Asante Kotoko won eventually before Hearts of Oak also repeated that feat in the 1978 season.

* Furthermore, the 1979 season had 18 clubs with Hearts of Oak winning and 1980 season was the last time a Ghanaian top-flight competition saw 18 clubs competing. That year, Asante Kotoko emerged as the champions they would hope to replicate that this season. 

* Since the inception of Ghana League, *94* new clubs have featured, and if the two debutants - Techiman Eleven Wonders and Karela United- play their games over the weekend, the number will become 96 since 1956.

* Only eleven (11) clubs have won the title so far with Kumasi Asante Kotoko been the most successful club with 23, followed by Accra Hearts of Oak (20),
Obuasi AshantiGold [Goldfields] (4), Accra Great Olympics (2), Dormaa Aduana Stars (2), Sekondi Eleven Wise (1), Real Republicans (1), Cape Coast Ebusua Dwarfs (1) Sekondi Hasaacas (1) Berekum Chelsea (1) and Legon Cities [Wa All-Stars] (1).

* Berekum Chelsea was the 10th club to win the title while Legon Cities [Wa All Stars] became the 11th and last new club so far to win the title. 

*By: Isaac Amponsah (Dr Ike) and Bright Yeboah Taylor (BYT)*

* Techiman Eleven Wonders will be the third team based in the city of Techiman to participate in the Ghanaian top-flight since it's inception in 1956.

* Techiman Holy Stars became the first club from the city to participate  in Ghana Premier League as they were part of the 1985-86 season while Techiman City took part in the 2015-16 season. Surprisingly, all of them were relegated in their maiden season, a feat Wonders would hope to avoid.

* Asante Kotoko pulled out of the 1956 & 1967 seasons. 1967 was played on knock-out bases and Ebusua Dwarfs won the tournament through the toss of the coin, after drawing 1-1 on two occasions with Sekondi Eleven Wise in the final.

* In-terms of appearances, Hearts of Oak (57), Asante Kotoko (55), Accra Great Olympics (50), Ebusua Dwarfs (38), AshantiGold (Goldfields) [30], King Faisal (18), Liberty Professionals (18), Medeama (Kessben) [10], Legon Cities [Wa All-Stars] (10), Berekum Chelsea (9), Aduana Stars (8), WAFA (Feyenoord) [6], Bechem United (5), Inter-Allies (4), Dreams FC (1) and Elmina Sharks (1).

  • VIA
  • admin
  • Dr Ike and BYT