admin admin
* By: Isaac Amponsah (Dr Ike) and Bright Yeboah Taylor (byt)

* The 2019-20 season of the Ghana League will be the 57th edition since the competition started in 1958 but it will be the 24th edition since the inception of Ghana Premier League on 19th December 1993.

* The Ghana Football Association Extra-Ordinary Congress canceled the 2017-18 League season which saw Techiman Eleven Wonders and Karela as debutants. Due to the cancellation, the two clubs will be playing their debuts games in the competition when the 2019-20 season kick-off.

* Kumasi King Faisal and Accra Great Olympics join the other 16 elite Clubs for the 18 Club League as Extra-Ordinary Congress agreed.

* Accra Great Olympics are previous winners of the Ghanaian top-flight competition on two occasions in 1970 and 1974 seasons.

* The Wonder Club won the 1970 Ghana League without defeat, meaning they were unbeaten through-out the League Matches.

* By: Isaac Amponsah (Dr Ike) and Bright Yeboah Taylor (byt)

* The 2019-20 season will be the 7th time that Ghana elite competition would be played with 18 Clubs.

* The debut 18 Club League was 1962-63 season which Real Republicans won, followed by 1963-64 season which Asante Kotoko won.

Moreover, the 1975 season saw 18 Club League with Asante Kotoko winning while Hearts of Oak won the 1978 season.

* Furthermore, the 1979 season saw 18 Club League with Hearts of Oak winning and 1980 season was the last time Ghanaian top-flight competition saw 18 Club League which Asante Kotoko won.

* Since the inception of Ghana League, 93 New Clubs have featured and if the two Debutants, Techiman Eleven Wonders and Karela kick-off, it will be 95 Clubs since 1958.

* Only eleven (11) New Clubs have won the title so far with Kumasi Asante Kotoko been the most successful club with 23, followed by Accra Hearts of Oak (19),
Obuasi AshantiGold (4), Accra Great Olympics (2), Dormaa Aduana Stars (2), Sekondi Eleven Wise (1), Real Republicans (1), Cape Coast Ebusua Dwarfs (1) Sekondi Hasaacas (1) Berekum Chelsea (1) and Wa All-Stars (1).

* Berekum Chelsea is the 10th new club to win the title while Wa All-Stars is the 11th and last new club so far to win the title.

* By: Isaac Amponsah (Dr Ike) and Bright Yeboah Taylor (byt)

* Techiman Eleven Wonders will be the third team based in the city of Techiman to participate in the Ghana top-flight competition since it's inception in 1958.

* Techiman Holy Stars were part of the 1985-86 season while Techiman City took part in the 2015-16 season and surprisingly, all of them were relegated in that same season they participated in the competition.

* Asante Kotoko pulled out of the 1967 season. It was knock-out bases and Ebusua Dwarfs won the tournament through the toss of the coin, after drawing 1-1 on two occasions with Sekondi Eleven Wise in the final.

* In-terms of appearance, Hearts of Oak (56), Asante Kotoko (55), Accra Great Olympics (49), Ebusua Dwarfs (37), AshantiGold (Goldfields) [30], King Faisal (18), Liberty Professionals (18), Medeama (Kessben) [10], Wa All-Stars (10), Berekum Chelsea (9), Aduana Stars (8), WAFA (Feyenoord) [6], Bechem United (5), Inter-Allies (4), Dreams FC (1) and Elmina Sharks (1).

  • VIA
  • admin